The math of satisfaction

March 30, 2013, 12:46 AM

Song for this blog: Glorious God by New Life Worship

tumblr_m64ip4RUvt1qdfh9eo1_500

Finished reading chapter 2 of The Attributes of GodGod’s Immensity. Wow… I’m so awed and floored by the revelations and understanding God gave to Tozer. And I’m so touched, and I feel so loved and gifted by the LORD.

We multiply, we increase, and still we’re anxious and unsatisfied. Why? Because all that is beneath God will not satisfy us. God made you in His image and you’re stuck with it. God did not make the chimpanzee in His image… God made only you in His image and you’re stuck with it, sinner and Christian both. You’re made in the image of God, and nothing short of God will satisfy you… You’ll have to have God minus all things. (p.26)

He wants us to come as simply and as plainly as a little child. (p.27)

Assuredly, I say to you, unless you are converted and become as little children, you will by no means enter the kingdom of heaven. (Matthew 18:3)

The sun shall no longer be your light by day,
Nor for brightness shall the moon give light to you;
But the Lord will be to you an everlasting light,
And your God your glory.

Your sun shall no longer go down,
Nor shall your moon withdraw itself;
For the Lord will be your everlasting light,
And the days of your mourning shall be ended.
(Isaiah 60:19-20)

“Only God, only God and God alone! Take the world but give me Jesus!”

~Sometimes it’s easier to agree on this, but not to think or say, especially when we’re in need. When all that we can think of what will become of our future, we usually push aside God and the truth that He alone provides everything that we need. That kind of thinking is being without faith and trust in a Sovereign God.

So we must think and put God first in our minds, hearts, lives… that everything else shall follow, because He sustains, He gives, He provides; He has everything, He is in everything.

But seek first the kingdom of God and His righteousness, and all these things shall be added to you. (Matthew 6:33)

God is above, but He’s not pushed up. He’s beneath, but He’s not pressed down. He’s outside, but He’s not excluded. He’s inside, but He’s not confined. God is above all things presiding, beneath all things sustaining, outside of all things embracing, and inside of all things filling. That is the immanence of God. (p.21)

Oh God! Truly who am I that You would care for me…? But You made me, and love me, and keep me. You will never leave me, nor forsake me, nor abandon me. What could I ever desire Lord, far from You? What could I ever want or need in this life than You? I pray LORD, that You would reside in me, fill me with peace and assurance that everything will be alright because You hold everything together. You won’t let me fall apart. Thank You for Your love… Father God!

You’re all I want
You’re all I’ve ever needed
You’re all I want
Help me know You are near ♫♪

+++

Okay, the first and the last song are different.. the first one it came up to me just this morning, and the latter was when I finished writing my devo. :D

Though I’m just off to the third chapter (God’s Goodness), I really recommend this book by Tozer, because it focuses more (or most) on God and all about Him, and not on us (because I think some modern Christian writers/authors focus on how to become more of a successful Christian– in love, family, work, social, etc– rather than how to live for the glory of God as Christ directs*). Tozer said, “Christianity at any given time is strong or weak depending upon her concept of God. And I insist upon this and I have said it many times, that the basic trouble with the Church today is her unworthy conception of God” (p.34). It is vitally important to know, learn, understand God and who and what He is really like… But really, can we? Can we understand Him, with all our intellectual/mental capacity? All we have is limited, that is why we usually think about God limitedly (and I don’t know if there’s such a word like that..). That is why we usually become bored of worship because we let our limited minds do all the work. David Fessenden, who wrote the book’s Study Guide, made a conclusion in the first attribute:

We discover a God who is far beyond our comprehension, but one who is intimately concerned for us. More than that, He invites us into relationship with Him. He is the God with whom we will never become bored, the God whom we can know, but will never reach the end of. This is the God we worship!” (p.166)

To God be all the highest glory and honor!

 

+++

Tozer, A. W. (2010). The Attributes of God:  A Journey Into the Father’s Heart, Volume 1. Mandaluyong City, MM: OMF Literature Inc.

for more notes from the book, I made a Note (lol, redundant~) in FB… :)

 

+++

*Argh, actually it’s hard to explain it all here about that… just purchase Tozer’s book if you really want to understand what I mean ^_^ God bless!

So, what's on your mind?

