three verses

Wow another year has passed by, and here we are, at 2013. Time really flies by so quickly. When I was a kid I’ve never thought that the world would reach until this far (because y’know, Astroboy is set on 2030, and Marty McFly time-traveled to 2015. I thought the 21st century would introduce us to flying cars and silver uniforms in tights XD).

So much for that.2013resolutions_122712-thumb-640xauto-7388

I was planning to write on New Year’s Eve, but I got caught up in many household chores and errands. That certain day is always busy, because it’s my special day— another year has also been added to my age. Haha! (There goes my youth… lol) But in line of this I want to share my three life verses— ones that have truly struck me, and motivated and inspired me, taught me to be more mature as I walk daily in this Christian journey.

1. 2 Corinthians 12:9-10

And He said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for My strength is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore most gladly I will rather boast in my infirmities, that the power of Christ may rest upon me.

I found this verse during one of my lowest moments, when I felt so little, so incapable of, so weak. But this verse made me realize that there’s nothing wrong in being weak. Accepting one’s weakness is a sign of strength. What a paradox. But it’s the truth. John 15:5 also says:

I am the vine, you are the branches. He who abides in Me, and I in him, bears much fruit; for without Me you can do nothing.

Apart from my Source, I am nothing. I can not accomplish, I’ll fail eventually if I keep on being self-sufficient. Jesus’ power is made perfect in my weakness, and that’s why I have to keep holding on to Him.

sufficient

“For when I am weak, then I am strong.” (v.10)

Second Corinthians chapter 12 also talks about Paul’s thorn in the flesh. I realize that, our lives may seem perfect, but each of us still has our own personal thorn— something (or someone) that makes us humble. I think that is God’s way for us to never feel or think so proud of our own selves, accomplishments, or the things we can do with our own might. Try as we might, we still need God.

2. Jeremiah 29:13-14

“And you will seek Me and find Me, when you search for Me with all you heart. And I will be found by you, says the LORD.”

While verse 11 is so well-known for its message of blessings, the above verses isn’t so (well that’s what I observe), but it conveys a blessing of a kind too. Over and over in my life I have always felt so miserable, depressed, lonely, dissatisfied and frustrated by and with myself, but I have found out that the main reason of all those things was that I failed to seek and put God first in my life. I tend to find happiness and enjoyment from other people or things, but I always forget that the LORD is the only source of JOY and PEACE. When I am in rock bottom, I find that the only way back is to seek Him and His word.

Verses 13 and 14 are God’s promises that if I seek Him with all of my heart, I will truly find Him, not because He’s missing, or lost, but because I am, just like the Israelites who’d been captives of Babylon. The people were feeling they’re abandoned, but the LORD told them to seek after Him, and He would surely let them find Him. Their sins hindered them from God’s presence. Reflecting on this, whenever I forget or fail to seek the LORD, I find myself in ruins.

1 Come, let us return to the Lord;Young woman reading bible
for he has torn us, that he may heal us;
he has struck us down, and he will bind us up.
After two days he will revive us;
on the third day he will raise us up,
that we may live before him.
Let us know; let us press on to know the Lord;
his going out is sure as the dawn;
he will come to us as the showers,
as the spring rains that water the earth. (Hosea 6:1-3, ESV)

3. John 12:24

Most assuredly, I say to you, unless a grain of wheat falls into the ground and dies, it remains alone; but if it dies, it produces much grain.

sprouting-seedThis one’s too deep, and I think it has a variety of meanings, and is less known. But for me, it’s about a life of a Christian fully dedicated in turning his or her life around for the LORD and His cause.

I first found this while reading SHIOKARI PASS when I was in elementary. Shiokari Pass is written by Ayako Miura, and is about a boy raised in Buddhism,  but was converted to Christianity when he met his mother. At first I really didn’t understand what the verse means, but then overtime, through attending seminars and reading devotional/supplementary books, I found out that it’s about forsaking the old life– the old sinful ways of a person– and becoming a new man (self) in Christ. A person becomes a believer, and can choose to stay like that. But a believer who dies to himself is revolutionary. As a seed gets to be broken first before it can sprout, once the new man is break-opened in our lives, we are set free from our past that had shackled us, and become someone God wants us to be. We can finally become fruitful, because the Holy Spirit is working in us, without hindrances of our old man (self).

…put off your old self, which is being corrupted by its deceitful desires; to be made new in the attitude of your minds; and to put on the new self, created to be like God in true righteousness and holiness. (Ephesians 4:22-24)

And this is what I want for my life– to die everyday to myself. Everyday becoming more and more like our God. To forsake my ways, and do the will of the Father.

+++

As we turn over to a new year and change our calendars, we also must excel more in what we lack in the past years. Now’s our chance to do something we haven’t done before. Now’s our opportunity to continue what we have started. Now, we start filling the first pages of our lives with hope, faith, love, and entrust the remaining chapters to the faithful God.

Thank You Father God for all the things that You’ve done and given to me the past year. Good and bad– I’ve learned a lot of from them. And I know there’s a lot more of learning in store for me this 2013… You love me, and no one and nothing can level up to Your love… Thank You LORD for another year you’ve given to me and to my family; another chance to behold new things from You; and thank You for the people who love & understand me, those you’ve given under my care. I’ll treasure them in my heart. I trust You, for You are the only One who holds my future. Praise be to God!

Blessed 2013 to all! :)

So, what's on your mind?

