Instructions

Solo Overnight Mode, as I call it

Solo Overnight Mode, as I call it

For the past weeks I’ve been up until 4 in the morning because of our thesis (educational game development). Our group is consists of three members: one is in charge of the overall animation (Unity 3D), the other is of design (Photoshop), and I in 3D modeling (Blender) and design also. The game’s theme is underwater adventure, and the main character is a yellow submarine. In the first place, what really made me think hard was how to make its propeller rotate. Because of my limitations in animation know-how, I told my group mates to just leave the propeller behind just for a while, while we focus on more urgent things necessary on the gameplay.

A couple of nights ago, we decided to add some challenges in the game, so I was told to create a spike bomb/ball– a rolling one. Aw. I was still finding good tutorials on YouTube about animation or simple movements, and good thing I saw one, a movement similar to what we wanted to achieve. After several minutes, I made the spike ball move, but still not rolling. The video actually showed how to change/rotate directions of a single part of a mesh (the model, or the object) while moving on a path, but at that time I really couldn’t understand (maybe because I was already sleepy).

After giving my mind a break, I watched the video again and resolved to myself that I’m gonna follow everything this man was saying… and voila! I actually did it…

I didn't make a movie format of it, though. The red thing is the path, & that's where the ball is rolling.

I didn’t make a movie format of it, though. The red thing is the path, & that’s the track of the ball’s roll.

So the quotation is true after all… “You can do anything you set your mind to” (Benjamin Franklin). And it’s really essential to follow what the tutorial is saying. What I did before was watch the video and bypass the important details, which was why I didn’t make it the first try. Understanding the instruction is the key.

 

 

A devotional from my GOD’s WORD Translation raced through my mind:

Nine different times, Exodus 39 says, “They followed the LORD’s instructions.” God gave the Israelites some specific instructions for building the tent of meeting. Because the Israelites followed God’s wishes, Moses blessed them (39:43). Who knows what kind of place of worship the Israelites would have built had they not followed the Lord’s instructions. Perhaps they would have left out some important part of the tent. They definitely would have missed out on being blessed.

In the Bible, God has instructions for every area of our lives. If we will follow them, we will never regret it. All of us know people who have wrecked their lives. This happens when we try to run our own lives without God. When you need to make decisions, read God’s instructions. (…)*

 

We try to lead our own lives; we try to be sovereign. We tend to plan and make decisions without laying it first to the Lord. But we must not:dep_1414004-Reading-Bible

1 The plans of the heart belong to humans,
but an answer on the tongue comes from the Lord.
2 A person thinks all his ways are pure,
but the Lord weighs motives.
3 Entrust your efforts to the Lord,
and your plans will succeed. (Proverbs 16:1-3, GW)

I remember the time when I was a senior in high school, and it was time to decide which course I would take and to what university or college I would go. At that time, I wasn’t really prepared to go to college. Most of my classmates then planned to take up Nursing because it was the in-demand course that year. Well I didn’t like taking med study, so I decided to just take Architecture or Fine Arts (because I was fond of drawing back then). But something came up to me, so many things (err, tragedy? accident?) had happened, and then… I suddenly took a different course. Recently I realized how I wanted to go back to that decision-making period of my life and change things. But, I know I couldn’t, of course. I realize that what’s happening to me is the result of my decisions in the past. That time when I was a HS senior, I hadn’t given my life to the Lord yet. I hadn’t entrusted my plans to Him. It was really a failure, because of my own foolishness.

But! Now I’m realizing all God had shown and given me all those 6 years. Even in the consequences of my folly, God still didn’t leave me. I’m thinking, what could possibly had happened if I took a course different from what I have now? Everything happened with a purpose. Even in our mistakes, there’s grace.  Now, though things aren’t what I really want, I know God is working through it. I have no power, no control over what’s ahead of me, but like how Abraham trusted the LORD of his future just by following His commands, I’m also giving my confidence to Him who holds it.

We can become frustrated when things don’t happen as we want them to be, but if we first give them to God, we won’t worry too much, because our trust is in the Lord. He can make things work out because He is able, and we must not doubt about our faith. We must follow what He wants for us through His word. We must be willing to yield to Him, surrender ourselves, and just let Him be the Lord of our lives.

-I made my very first 3D model move (after watching two different tutorials about movements, tracks/paths, and saving it into a movie file). But I can’t make a longer one– I’ll be out of memory! I leave the major animation to my group mate… ;D

keep-calm-and-follow-me-2485

To God be all the glory! Wisdom, power, strength, might are His!

*An excerpt: “When All Else Fails, Read the Instructions,” GOD’s WORD for Students 365 Daily Devotions

So, what's on your mind?

