bits and pieces

Random notes..

 

“My life is coming to an end, and it is now time for me to be poured out as a sacrifice to God. I have fought the good fight. I have completed the race. I have kept the faith. The prize that shows I have God’s approval is now waiting for me. The Lord, who is a fair judge, will give me that prize on that day. He will give it not only to me but also to everyone who is eagerly waiting for him to come again.”  (2 Timothy 4:6-8, GW)

–Paul was assured that he’d given glory and honor to the LORD; he had finished well, and he was assured of the reward he had to receive.

Matthew 25:21 — “good and faithful servant
–Paul was certain that the life he lived for God was GOOD and FAITHFUL.

///

“If we go sinning after we have learned the truth, no sacrifice can take away our sins. (Hebrews 10:26)
Falling into the hands of the living God is a terrifying thing.” (v. 31)
–Yet, it’s best to fall into His hands, because His mercies endure forever. His mercies are great (2 Samuel 24:14).

 

So don’t lose your confidence. It will bring you a great reward. You need endurance so that after you have done what God wants you to do, you can receive what he has promised.

“Yet, the one who is coming will come soon. He will not delay.
The person who has God’s approval will live by faith.
But if he turns back, I will not be pleased with him.”

We don’t belong with those who turn back and are destroyed. Instead, we belong with those who have faith and are saved. (Hebrews 10:35-39)

 
+++
I have now a new notebook for my new devotional notes. But before I could write my first entry, I turned back again to my previous devo, and flipped through the pages. The above-mentioned group of verses and quotes or notes seem like it was written by a different person. Just like when I’m visiting old poems, I’m kind of awed to read it, thinking how in the world have I written those.. It seems odd, but encouraging. It’s like some other person was encouraging me, though it’s still me. It’s like that in Back To The Future Part II — the seventy year old letter of Doc to Marty, or the 2015 Biff who ‘advised’ his 1955 self about the future.

My head hurts thinking about that… @_@ (I hope it has connected somehow to the sentiments..whew)

 

Truly it’s better to fall into God’s hands than into men’s. It’s better still to receive punishment from God, than accept judgment from men. It’s best to trust God above everyone else.

Ang tulong ko’y sapat sa lahat ng pangangailangan mo; lalong nahahayag ang aking kapangyarihan kung ikaw ay mahina.
(2 Corinthians 12:9, Tagalog version)

As I said in my previous post, “To deny one’s weakness is to be proud of one’s self-confidence (that is, the confidence of the flesh), and that is not what we ought to do.”

In times and seasons of trying, it’s a joy that several words of promises and encouragement from the LORD are getting into my mind… an assurance that He never really leaves me nor forsakes me. God never fails.

 
PS.
I think there’s really a good reason why we keep journals and devotional notebooks (and me “creating” my own quotes)– it’s because from time to time we tend to look back to our old self (through written testimonies), only to find there’s also some encouraging bits and pieces to remind us for today’s struggles.

 

 

BE STRONG AND OF GOOD COURAGE! //Joshua 1:9//

 

 

Note: All stated Bible verses are in GOD’S WORD Translation, except the Tagalog version :D

So, what's on your mind?

