Baggage

During the first semester of my senior year, there were “slack-off days” – went home after school and just watched TV while lying on my bed (Ah, those were the days). During those times I really missed watching the local afternoon news and the other primetime shows available in our cable TV. How I Met Your Mother was up at that time. I wasn’t really into American sitcoms, but I tried to watch it because the title was intriguing. (I have read the storyline before in Wikipedia… haha mahilig talaga akong magcheck doon of things like shows or movies I’m curious about without the need to watch or see them first.) Well you can read about it here.

There’s this one episode, where Ted (the main character) is dating a new girl, and is searching for a “baggage” in her. He believes that how seemingly perfect a girl is (or a person), there will still some problems that will come out eventually. One of his friends tells him to just look way past it since everyone has baggage. Another points out that someone who has it doesn’t mean she isn’t date-able. Ted recalls the last time he looked past a girl’s baggage was with his former fiancee.

Ted reacting "violently" to the movie..

While seeing a new movie called The Wedding Bride with his date, Ted shockingly realizes it’s about him and his relationship with Stella, who left him on their wedding day and went to Shelter Island with her ex, Tony. Well the movie is barely truthful to the real accounts (it’s directed by Tony himself) and has given Ted a negative shade. People love the film, but not Ted of course. It only brings back all the painful memories and the fact that how hard he tries to hide what happened before, it will all come out. Eventually he discovers that he’s the one who has the baggage problem.

let God lead us in moving on

What is a baggage? According to dictionary.com, it’s the “things that encumber one’s freedom, progress, development, or adaptability.” Ted has his major emotional baggage, and he couldn’t move forward in his “love life” because of that.

We too have baggage. It might be physical or emotional, attitudes, behaviors that were built up overtime, but commonly it’s always about the past (especially the unresolved ones). Sometimes, or most of the times, we couldn’t go on to something because a past hurt has come up, or a past wound has once again been opened. We couldn’t let go of it because it’s still clinging with us. Past sin also plays a major part, for it disables us from moving on in our lives. It drags us down.

Sin is like a clamshell, like how Ptr. Ed Lapiz describes it in his book, Remember Who You Are:

Naranasan na ba ninyong tanggalan ng suwero o ng tahi ng surgery? Masakit dahil nakakabit sa ating katawan. Kaya huwag nating pinababayaang kumapit ang kasalanan. Kung napakalalim ng kapit niyan na parang talaba, sasama pati ang laman nyo pag tinanggal yan ng Panginoon. So don’t get attached. And if you were foolish to attach to anything, don’t get too attached to sin. It will be extremely painful pag tinanggal yan. Kung anak tayo ng Diyos, kahit pitong taon na niyang pinayagan na may kumabit na mga talaba diyan, tatanggalin din niya yan. Huwag akalain na tatanggapin kayo ng Lord sa presence niya na may nakakabit na talaba sa inyo.” (pp.123-124)

Hebrews 12:1-2 says, “Therefore, since we are surrounded by such a great cloud of witnesses, let us throw off everything that hinders and the sin that so easily entangles. And let us run with perseverance the race marked out for us, fixing our eyes on Jesus, the pioneer and perfecter of faith.

The day I first watched that HIMYM episode, I totally thought of something to blog about from it, but couldn’t really continue because back then I still had a personal major baggage to solve. But now, I can testify for the glory of God, that I have laid aside that weight unto Him. So many months before, I cried, prayed, and plead to the LORD to heal me of my broken heart and bitterness, so that I could finally live. It was a gradual process, and it’s worth the wait. The result is sweet. I’m experiencing God’s peace and security, a still state of my heart and mind. But as I also realize, nothing is genuine until tested by fire. This newfound stillness will be brought to the test, I believe that. After all, I am in the race, and all I should do is to fix my eyes, my focus unto Jesus, because He’s the One I’m serving.

Having baggage issues? Drop the load. Give it to the LORD. Confess it before Him, for He is faithful and just. Ask for a new heart and mind. His answer may either take a long time or not – it depends on His will – but still don’t give up praying for it. Plead it to God. Sometimes He wills those things to happen so that we can realize that our human effort to remove it will just fail, but if we rely on His power, we will discover He is the only solution to all of the issues we have inside. It sure wouldn’t be easy in our place, but God is willing to provide strength. So the question will be, are you willing?

“Come to Me, all you who labor and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest. Take My yoke upon you and learn from Me, for I am gentle and lowly in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. For My yoke is easy and My burden is light.”

Matthew 11:28-30

NOTE: HIMYM is rated PG. I do not encourage watching the show.

Also, I do not intend to raise some “love-life” issue here. That matter I believe deserves a more matured blog post by a well-experienced Christian writer :D

So, what's on your mind?

