What I’ve learned from sin

Forgiving More, Loving More

Luke 7:36-50

Two people owed money to a certain moneylender. One owed him five hundred denarii, and the other fifty. Neither of them had the money to pay him back, so he forgave the debts of both. Now which of them will love him more?”

Simon replied, “I suppose the one who had the bigger debt forgiven. (vv.41-43)

(v.47) Therefore, I tell you, her many sins have been forgiven—as her great love has shown. But whoever has been forgiven little loves little.

Alabaster Jar

with this alabaster jar...

We could not boast anything in front of God, because we are all sinners. Though already believers, sin and temptations crouch at our very doorstep. But whenever we feel “righteous” and see someone who had done something unrighteous, we often think like that of the Pharisee in another parable. We sometimes think that we cannot do “certain sins”; that we aren’t capable of doing those. But that’s just making us more unrighteous.

I saw one girl the other day. I know her. She was with her child. She’s in her teens. Upon meeting her again, I would like to tell myself, “Good thing I’ve never been like her…” but I brushed off the thought. I cannot exalt myself because I know how sinful I am. Maybe we’re in a different degree or level, but I think all sins are just the same in God’s eyes. They’re all dirty, filthy in His sight.

I realize my own faults, failures, and especially my sins. Compared to hers, maybe mine are too shameful. But as God says in Psalm 103:11-12,

11 For as high as the heavens are above the earth,
so great is his love for those who fear him;
12 as far as the east is from the west,
so far has he removed our transgressions from us.

He is faithful and just to forgive us of our sins. He doesn’t remember them anymore (Isaiah 43:25); He puts them behind His mind (Isaiah 38:17); He puts them in a bag (Job 14:17), casts them into the sea (Micah 7:19); He blots them out like clouds (Isaiah 44:22)… That’s how God treats our sins if we come to Him with all humility and confess to Him directly everything we’ve done so wrongly.

We know what the woman in the Book of Luke had done for Jesus. She offered a very costly alabaster jar and poured it over Jesus’ head. In other Gospel, the Lord told His disciples that what she had done will serve as a memorial to all. She showed her act of acceptance that she was a sinner. And because of this, she also showed how much she loved the Lord, as He told her, “Your sins are forgiven… Your faith has saved you; go in peace” (Luke 7:48, 50).

So how great and countless our sins are, even greater is God’s forgiveness for us. How deep the wounds of our past are, deeper is God’s love and mercy toward us. It is because of His forgiveness that we ought to love Him back MORE. As one song says, “If His grace is an ocean, we’re all sinking!”

2 thoughts on “What I’ve learned from sin

So, what's on your mind?

